Updates on TPC

Engineering Technologists Seek Rights to Practice to Improve Public Safety




Technology Professionals Canada Poised to Incorporate

The Presidents of the technology associations for Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Saskatchewan, met in Ottawa In November 2015 to put their signatures to documents leading to incorporation of Technology Professionals Canada (TPC). This was an historic meeting for the four provinces as they take their alliance to the next logical step in growing their relationship and commitment to the profession.

Incorporation sends a strong message to our 55,000 members, employers, education, industry, and government partners that TPC is here to assist the four professional associations as they strive to meet their mandate to serve the public as self-governing professional associations.

TPC, representing technology associations who combined have over 85% of the registered professional technologists and technicians in Canada, has been at work for the past four years building regulatory resources, notably Technology Accreditation Canada (TAC), a national corporation that accredits technology programs against a national standard. Accreditation of a technology program assures students, employers, and the profession that graduates meet the minimum standards required for meeting the basic educational requirements for professional certification and registration.

All four provincial professional associations helped provide the financial and people resources needed to establish the TAC accreditation program. An estimated $1M was invested in the last four years to develop and launch TAC. The formation of TAC started with a full review by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) of the model provided by another accreditation body, as well as reviewing models in other parts of the world. CSA, a highly regarded standards setting and quality assurance body, has been contracted by TPC and TAC to carry out other projects leading to tools and resources that enhance the professional regulatory framework in the four provinces and nationally.

TPC will be headquartered in Ottawa.


Presidents (left to right) from Alberta, BC, Saskatchewan and Ontario sign filing documents for the incorporation of Technology Professionals Canada. Pictured are Norm Kyle, P.L.(Eng), P.Tech,(Eng); Keith Trulson, AScT, Eng.L; Mike Sazynski, AScT; and Bob van den Berg, C.E.T.