Established in 2010, Technology Professionals Canada (TPC) was, at the time it was established, an alliance of technology professional associations from four provinces which together represent over 85 per cent of the engineering technology and applied science profession in Canada: Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario, and Saskatchewan.

In 2011, TPC engaged the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) to perform a comprehensive, independent review of technology accreditation practices that existed at the time measured against best practices from other jurisdictions and sectors. CSA conducted extensive national consultations across the country including the West, Ontario, and the Maritimes with numerous Deans and other stakeholders – as well as the Canadian Technology Accreditation Board (CTAB) — providing input.

Following its research and feedback from stakeholder consultations, CSA developed a report with recommendations to TPC on how to best serve the interests of its membership going forward. CSA identified opportunities for enhancement in the accreditation system, including clear, auditable processes and documentation, standards development, approvals and appeals, and training of auditors.

Based on the recommendations of this December 2011 report, TPC established a Provisional Committee with a mandate and budget to deliver a new organization called Technology Accreditation Canada (TAC). The aim of TAC is to revitalize the national accreditation system. Representatives from the TPC provincial associations, Council of Registrars, CTAB, industry, and National Council of Deans of Technology (NCDoT) were invited to participate in the TAC development process.

TPC was incorporated on January 13, 2016.

In 2019, the provincial organizations from Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island made the decision to join TPC, which was finalized by resolution in 2020. The reunified alliance now represents 91% of the profession.